top of page

Mini-self check in: Chaturanga envy

As long as I have been practicing yoga, Chaturanga has been a pose that has just not worked for me. Whenever I am in a class, I experience what I call “Chaturanga envy” every time I see someone flow so easily from standing to full plank then to the floor through the low push up move. In 1992, I had major abdominal surgery that resulted in my core muscles being cut. I know they will never be the same...but then I wonder: have I just not tried to do Chaturanga because I think it’s not possible due to the surgery? Then I broke my arm, and that gave me another reason to not do the pose.

So, one goal is to break down Chaturanga into small phases and see if I can at least come closer to the low pushup pose I have thought “not possible.” Tonight, I will see if I can go from full plank to my arms being slightly bent with my core pulled in!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page