top of page

Mini-Self Check-In: New yoga muscles

This week, I did the "Full Yoga Class" as taught by David. Boy, was I surprised the next day when I woke up! I had evidently gotten comfortable with the Hatha Yoga flow I had done literally dozen of times, so there were muscles I had not used in a long time. Before getting up, I did a body scan and found that I had aches (but not pain) in several shoulder and arm muscles, as well as my core. I will say that last January I suffered a broken upper arm in an accident at the RDU airport (a man tripped me from behind with his rolling suitcase), so I know I have been "guarding" that arm as I have eased back into yoga this fall. It is gratifying to know I can do some of the things that I now realize I had been avoiding because of my fear of pain in that arm and shoulder. I can do them -- I just need to keep at it.

It makes me understand a little bit more about fear and how it affects us. We think we cannot do something, when really we can. I want to reflect more on that this week.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page